Motherland revisited

on

Life sprouts in mother’s womb,
feeding from her blood.
Mother providing her newest limb,
life through umbilical cord.

Months of utmost care and hidden fear,
enduring pain that no one else could bear.
shrilled cry of new born the first thing to hear,
reminding her of the creation to take care.

The canopy of mother’s arms stimulate touch,
sight of her face most soothing to watch.
Symphony in my ear echoing when she sang,
the heart felt language called mother tongue.

My first steps holding her palm,
dragging my feet along with her in rhythm.
Wherever I walk with my mothers’ hand in hand,
I call that place my motherland.

Leave a Reply

